Trojan Man!!! (or woman)


Enter my seventh customer of the day. She buys three packs of Orbitz gum and gives me a twenty.

Her husband walks up behind her to rest a carefully-placed hand on her shoulder. (Remember this later). They are both in their middle forties.

Today is another day in a stream of college orientations. As a campus store, we service parents and future students spending exorbitant amount of money on t-shirts, foam fingers and shot glasses. After dropping their child (or children?) off at orientation, this couple ventured to my register to buy some minty-freshness. However, it was not their purchase that surprised me. It was the contents of this woman’s purse.

“Your total comes to three dollars,” I say.

The customer sets her bag on the counter, and I get a glimpse of something holy. An industrial size pack – a value pack, if you will – of Trojan condoms. Something about that large black box made me giggle.

Hmmm. Maybe the nearly-uncontrollable laughter came from this string of thoughts….

Wow. That’s a lot of condoms. 72. Really? Do you really need 72?

Where would two parents have sex on a college campus? Is the arboretum shady enough?

Is it entirely necessary to bring condoms with you to your child’s orientation? Does talking about safety concerns and dining hall food get you really fired up?

Luckily, I managed to hold in the belly laughs until they rounded the corner.

But really… 72?

About Carlie Sorosiak

I am a travel writer, travel junkie, and a lover of food and culture.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment